The 5 part maths model

The Vision:

At Brownmead, we believe that mathematics is an important life skill and we endeavour to ensure that maths is relevant, enjoyable, challenging and above all a consistent approach across the whole school.

The Curriculum

We follow the National Curriculum mastery for mathematics, whilst embracing other approaches and elements of  Power Maths and Numicon.

Children at Brownmead become confident mathematicians though a progression of skills and strategies:

1) Through highly effective teacher modelling, children are exposed to concrete manipulatives in order to underpin early understanding of the key mathematical concepts being taught.

2) Children are given the opportunity to practice the  key concepts in order to develop fluency.

3) To develop deeper conceptual understanding, the children are challenged through a series of probing questions which progress from application of fluency, through thinking, explaining, and reasoning through to Greater Depth using a range of concrete, visual and abstract methods.

At Brownmead, we follow a cyclic approach which allows ALL children to revisit the key strands of the curriculum, which we believe gives the opportunity to progress through the journey from Fluency through to rich and complex questions

In order to support a mastery curriculum in maths, Brownmead’s aim is that all children become fluent mathematicians and are able to use and apply those skills in a range of contexts.

Therefore, children are guided through 5 areas of learning:

EYFS—Visual, Fluency and Thinking

KS1—Visual, Fluency, Thinking and Explaining in Y2 


KS2—Visual, Fluency, Thinking, Explaining and Rich and Complex

What is the 5-part model?

The following is Ofsted’s definition of differentiation in mathematics.

Pupils who grasp concepts rapidly should be challenged through being offered rich and sophisticated problems before acceleration through new content.

In order to support this mastery the AET mathematics team have defined mastery as Fluency with the unfamiliar

To move towards fluency with the unfamiliar pupils are encouraged to work through a 5 part process of learning